Microsoft OneNote – my digital online notebook

OneNoteI like to be organised.  My life is too busy to not be.  I was introduced to Microsoft OneNote a few years ago.  I was amazed that this software is part of the standard Microsoft Office Suite but wasn’t used as much as the likes of Microsoft Word and Excel.  Microsoft OneNote is an amazing software programme that has revolutionised how I organise my life.

What is OneNote?

“OneNote is the digital note-taking app for your devices.  Where you can capture thoughts, ideas, to-dos, in one place.  You can use it anywhere and share your notes with anyone.” (Facebook’s OneNote page, 2014).  It became available in the 2003 version of Microsoft Office and you can download for free on all your devices from the Microsoft OneNote website.

Basically, it replaces all of your random paper notebooks and post-it notes with one digital repository.

OneNote Features

I would like to share with you some of my favourite features.

  • Because I can save my OneNote notebooks to the cloud (via OneDrive), I can access my notes/things to remember anytime, anywhere (as long as I have a mobile device with me).  No more getting to the supermarket and not being able to remember that random grocery item I jotted down on my kitchen blackboard.
  • It records and embeds video and audio files straight into my notebook.  It is so simple to do as well.  Taking notes in meetings is now done at the push of the button, allowing time to properly focus on the conversation.  This is nicely demonstrated in this 2-minute YouTube video.
  • I can assign certain notes a ‘flag’ to send me a reminder to action something at a later date, popping up as an alert on my outlook calendar.  How handy is that?red flag reminders
  • It automatically saves everything, saving me time by not having to go and save a document every now and then.

There are obviously many more fantastic features and functionality of OneNote. Thomas Maurer has identified a number of other great features too.

Check OneNote Out

I urge you to check OneNote out.  It is a simple intuitive programme that works with the same look and feel as the familiar Microsoft Office suite.  And you can’t do anything wrong, it’s just a digital version of your notepad.  Plus think of all those trees you would be saving.

Please note this website and blog is for an assignment.

References
OneNote (2014). OneNote’s Facebook homepage.  Retrieved from https://www.facebook.com/OneNote/info
Vest, N (2013). Microsoft OneNote – Recording a lecture [YouTube video clip].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMeWV8N_Ieg
Maurer, T (2014). This is why OneNote is Awesome [Blog post].  Retrieved from http://www.thomasmaurer.ch/2014/02/this-is-why-onenote-is-awesome/

Image Credit
Top by techno buffalo
Bottom by the newspaper clip

Leave a Reply

